Plan of Action (Collecting Guidelines)

Posted: March 13, 2010 in Blog

As I am sitting around with my son looking at cards, he is watching Baby Einstein (Great background music!). I start to contemplate the direction of my collection. Overall, I am very happy with all the cards in my collection, but I would like to add more focus…

I have been thinking about who I collect as well and all the players on my collecting list are my favorites, but I find that I am always trying to find cards of each of them. This can get very expensive, very quickly. So for awhile I am going to try and stick to a buying plan. I have my last few boxes to break on the way now, and I will be sticking to picking up just singles until The National. Granted that is quite a while from now but I want to save money.

The Plan of Action:

  1. Break the last few boxes that are on the way
    1. 2 boxes of 2009 Sweet Spot
    2. 2 2007 UD Masterpieces Baseball
    3. 1 2008 UD Masterpieces Football
  2. Stick to only picking up/ buying singles of the following players:
    1. Cal Ripken Jr.
    2. Brooks Robinson
    3. Jim Palmer
    4. Johnny Unitas
    5. And Masterpieces Parallels of them all!
  3. Avoid trying to put together any sets
  4. Follow through with guidelines until beginning of August!

It feels a bit drastic now, but I feel that in the long run of my collection this will help. I will try to keep track of all the singles I pick up during this time and write an AAR (After Action Review), when completed.

Comments
  1. wickedortega says:

    It’s going to be hard my friend….

  2. beardy says:

    Haha. So I guess those will be the only players we’ll be competing over. No more Roberts? I have been making a Roberts pile for you, and it’s huge now.

Leave a Reply

