I convinced my wife to browse all the cards that would interest her on CheckOutMyCards. First thing she stated was how much easier the process was. When compared to eBay, here are the things we like:

  1. Easier to keep track of the amount spent
  2. Combined shipping costs
  3. No need to check/ wait for multiple auctions to end
  4. No worries about being outbid at the last minute

So, I started my CheckOutMyCards experiment with $20. I figured that, instead of getting a blaster box of some product I really don’t care about and hoping for a few cards I like, why not try to spend the same amount of money and only get cards I want. Here is what I got:

I am still getting the scanner up and running after the move, so all the card images are from CheckOutMyCards.

  1. 2006 Finest Blue Xfractors #12 – Ray Lewis/150
  2. 2006 Finest Blue Xfractors #12 - Ray Lewis/150 - Courtesy of CheckOutMyCards.com

  3. 1997 Pinnacle Shades #5 – Cal Ripken
  4. 1997 Pinnacle Shades #5 - Cal Ripken - Courtesy of CheckOutMyCards.com

  5. 1969 Topps Mini-Albums Inserts #2 – Baltimore Colts
  6. 1969 Topps Mini-Albums Inserts #2 - Baltimore Colts - Courtesy of CheckOutMyCards.com

  7. 2005 Donruss Elite Passing the Torch #7 – Brooks Robinson/1000
  8. 2005 Donruss Elite Passing the Torch #7 - Brooks Robinson/1000 - Courtesy of CheckOutMyCards.com

  9. 2004 Donruss Elite Face to Face Face Masks #FF23 – P.Warrick/E.Reed/125
  10. 2004 Donruss Elite Face to Face Face Masks #FF23 - P.Warrick/E.Reed/125 - Courtesy of CheckOutMyCards.com

  11. 2008 Finest Gold Refractors/Xfractors #99 – Ed Reed/50
  12. 2008 Finest Gold Refractors/Xfractors #99 - Ed Reed/50 - Courtesy of CheckOutMyCards.com

And the really great part is that I have over $9 left! In 2010 I will no longer use eBay, because I have found a much easier way to purchase my cards…

If you have not tried CheckOutMyCards, I highly recommend it!

Comments
  1. Paul says:

    Maybe it’s just me. I’m not in love with eBay, but after years of dealing with the site I at least know how it works. CheckOutMyCards gives me a headache.

  2. Mark says:

    I’ve been looking at COMC and also at Sportlots.com. I like the ease of COMC, but Sportlots has lower prices on the cards I’m looking for and I’m able to find many of those cards from the same buyer. But I think every situation might be be different. Thanks for sharing.

  3. night owl says:

    I did exactly what you did recently — right down to the $20 amount. And I was very pleased. I’ll be posting about it and it’ll pretty much be what you said word for word.

  4. Tim says:

    COMC is my absolute favorite. So easy, and the hits are often much cheaper than they are on ebay or beckett. Shipping is a bit much…but when you combine it is excellent!

  5. BigD says:

    I just made my first purchase on checkoutmycards too, and found it too be really easy to find what I wanted exactly. The only thing I don’t like is the shipping seems too high even when combined. I bought $20 worth of stuff, but $8 of it was shipping and it was only 22 cards, so not that heavy of an envelope. The good thing is you can make an offer, so if you offer at least 25 cents per card less than they are asking and they take it, it’s like getting your 25 cents per card shipping free.

  6. Sooz says:

    I really enjoy COMC, but I am not leaving eBay. This just give multiple options on where to buy cards. That’s all I ever wanted.

  7. Aaron says:

    I love COMC but still use Sportlots for the low end cards and eBay for the high end cards. High end cards on Sportlots and COMC are way overpriced. COMC is perfect for picking up those $5-25 Ripken cards for about 15% book value.

    BTW, I’m a huge Ripken collector and I emailed you a list with all my dupes in it. Never heard anything back. Let me know if you’re interested in working out a deal.

  8. lonestarr says:

    I’m guess I’m kinda stuck with eBay when the non-sport itch strikes, but most of my sports card singles buying is going to be from COMC now, I think. My first purchase went well anyway.

  9. yeah, COMC is waaay too high on shipping. And overpriced on the nicer cards ($20 and up)
    I’ll still use sportslots over them.

  10. Jason Bay says:

    COMC has a good thing going, but it’s hard to get away from ripping open a pack or box.

  11. I haven’t tried them but I know they seem to be doing well in the market. eBay is still a great place and I think most people will still use it. But its great that there are more outlets popping up to buy single cards as card shops die out.

Leave a Reply

