UDx thoughts

Posted: August 12, 2009 in Baseball
Tags: ,

I know many collectors are completely against the 2009 Upper Deck X, but I could not help myself and picked up a hobby box of the stuff. For about $1.13 per pack (I paid $27 per box), not too bad. A little over the cost of a retail blaster box. And you are guaranteed one jersey card per box.

The set size is small (100 cards) so it’s not too hard or expensive to finish a set. I will say that this set is definitely not for people who are trying to make money off the cards. I do not think that the large X on every card is needed, but that has been addressed by most bloggers already.

Breakdown of box contents:
Regular Cards: 89/100 (Just missing 1, 13, 22, 47, 51, 54, 66, 71, 78, 85, 100)
Die-cut Parallel Cards: 24/100

2009 UDx Koji Uehara 99 Die Cut
UD xponential
X: 8/75

2009 UDx Grady Sizemore X-GS2009 UDx Hanley Ramirez x-hr
X2: 6/45

2009 UDx Joe Mauer X2-JM
X3: 5/35

2009 UDx Ichiro X3-IS
X4: 3/25

2009 UDx Josh Hamilton X4-JH
X5: 2/15

2009 UDx Randy Johnson X5-RJ
3 20th Anniversary cards

2009 UD 20th anniversary
MJ04- Michael Jackson Icons card
Something with this card does not seem to sit right with me. He just passed away and you are trying to capitalize on his death. Also if you are going to make a card, use a photo not an image like this. I think everyone deserves respect.

2009 UD Michael Jackson2009 UD Michael Jackson Back

Upper Deck X Jersey Card: Josh Willingham (UDXJ-WI)

2009 UDx Josh Willingham Relic UDXJ-WI

I was very surprised to get NO doubles in the entire box, including the inserts. It was a nice cheap box.

Comments
  1. Brian says:

    Any interest in trading the Josh Hamilton X4?

  2. jswaykos says:

    I like these. I’m almost positive this will be the next box I purchase online – this or 08 Heroes (retail, of course!) At $20 for a box with one relic, it’s kinda the same thing.

Leave a Reply

