Ode to the Greatest Night of Baseball in My Life!

Posted: July 4, 2009 in Baseball, Blog
Tags: ,

Ripken Stadium

The Night = 3 July 2009

Location = Ripken Stadium

Teams = Aberdeen Ironbirds and the Oneonta Tigers

Story…

A couple of weeks ago, a coworker asked me if I would be interested in going to a minor league baseball game. My answer of course was “YES!” So a few days later, he presented me with 2 tickets to the 3 July 2009 game. The seats were great, 6 or so rows back from first base.

After asking my sister to babysit my son, she finally said she would. So my wife and I started making plans for what would be the greatest night of baseball we had ever had.

We arrived at Ripken Stadium in Aberdeen around 6:30ish. How refreshing not having to pay for parking or walk very far to the stadium!

Ironbirds WelcomeIronbirds #2

We made a deal to have as much fun as we could (not worry about the cost of food or items from the gift shop), since this was like the first real date we have had since the birth of our son.

Ironbirds Mascots

We ended up picking up an Ironbirds Pennant, a bobblehead of Ferrous, a postcard of Cal Ripken Jr., a new fitted hat for me, and a Nick Markakis Ironbirds shirt for my wife. *My wife, being a nurse, pointed out that “ferrous” is the first part of “ferrous sulfate,” also known as iron.

Ironbirds bobblehead front Ironbirds Ferrous back

The game itself was incredible! When looking at the Ironbirds’ site earlier today I found out that they were in a 5 game losing streak (Not the greatest situation). But from the start of this game, you would never know they had lost the past 5. The final score was Ironbirds 10 Tigers 1. WOW!

Ironbirds WIN

The entire game they were promoting an Autographed Matt Wieters Ironbirds Jersey. It cost $10 per ticket to enter the raffle. The entire game I was thinking about purchasing at least one ticket. I was talking to my wife as they did the final call for buying tickets (about the 8th inning), and we agreed that we would try just 1 ticket. I mean, you have to at least get one ticket to have a chance at winning.

Ironbirds Banner Matt Wieters

So right after the end of the game and right before they started the fireworks (which were awesome!), they did the drawing. My wife and I were just sitting there thinking about how nice it will be to see the fireworks, not realizing that in a few seconds we would be jumping for joy. I saw them pull out a piece of paper folded and for a split second thought, “That looks like the one I folded.” Then I heard my first name called by the people running the raffle (I have a common first name, it could be anyone). Then I heard my last name. Needless to say I was in a state of shock, I never win anything. So I stood up, got spotted and got invited to come down next to the field. Walking over I felt like the kid who found the Golden Ticket in Willy Wonka.

After providing proof that I am who I say I am, I was handed my first Matt Wieters autograph! The only thing I would have liked to see different with the jersey is if it was signed with a white or silver marker, but whatever. I WON!!

Wieters Autograph Jersey BackWieters Autograph Wieters Jersey Front

Sitting in my seat with the Matt Wieters jersey in my lap, I was still in shock as the fireworks started. My wife and I had grins on our face from ear to ear. It was hard to focus on the fireworks after winning an autographed jersey. The fireworks display was long and amazing though!

Ironbirds Fireworks #2

To top the night off, I got to come home to watch the Orioles win against the Angels! WHAT A GREAT NIGHT!

Comments
  1. beardy says:

    Congratulations! That is AWESOME!

  2. Chris says:

    That is….amazing! I am so jealous!

  3. david says:

    hey dude i was at the game too…i have IBs season tix…it’s the best deal in sports in this area. got two season tickets for $150.00 (9 game mini plan)…you can’t go to Camden Yards to see one game for that after you figure everything in. And yeah, dude i saw when you won the jersey. Pretty sweet!

  4. jeremy says:

    Wow that’s a great story. I haven’t even had the chance to go to a game this summer. Sounds like a good “date” with your wife.

  5. GrandCards says:

    Wow, that’s awesome! They do a great job up at Ripken Stadium night in and night out. Congrats on the awesome raffle win!

  6. MDbirdlover says:

    Woohoo! Congrats on that fine piece of merchandise.
    What a date!

Leave a Reply

