Mail Time and a Target Trip

Posted: June 29, 2009 in Baltimore Orioles, Baseball, Blog, Mailbag
Tags: ,

So today I went with my wife and son to the doctors. Man, do I hate taking my son there! It seems every time we leave there he is screaming.

Anyway, we needed to pick up a few baby items at Target and I got sucked into the card section again. Every time we go there I end up looking at cards. Jumping ahead, I ended up picking 2 packs of Bowman. I did get an autograph from a Bowman Retail pack earlier and I am a fan of the Chrome cards.

The highlight of the packs was easily the Matt Rigoli Chrome Refractor (4/299). An excellent looking card! I would love to get a nick Markakis card like this. But since I am not a Cardinals fan, would any Cardinals fan or Rigoli collector like to trade for this card (if so please leave me a comment).

2009 Bowman Chrome Matt Rigoli Refractor

Then upon arriving home I found two bubble mailers. Both were from recent eBay winnings.

Up first is a 2007 Upper Deck Premier “Premier Stitchings” Frank Robinson card (25/35). The first thing that caught my eye when I was this card was the great image of the Cartoon Oriole Bird, simply beautiful!

2007 Premier Stitchings Frank Robinson

In the second bubble mailer were 3 Jim Palmer Topps Sterling cards. I am a huge fan of Sterling, but there is no way I could afford a box of this stuff. So I can only resort to eBay for cards like these. Overall I love the way that these cards are presented. The nice shiny image set back into a well designed border card, I would love it if Topps would make a set of just these base cards (not numbered) and lowered the price.

2008 Sterling Jim Palmer 1342008 Sterling Jim Palmer 1372008 Sterling Jim Palmer 141

Comments
  1. Chris says:

    That Robinson card is a nice example of a card where the patch helps the look instead of hindering it, very nice!

Leave a Reply

