Robinson & Robinson (and a few others)

Posted: June 28, 2009 in Baltimore Orioles, Baseball, Blog
Tags: , , , ,

Since I have not posted in a while, I have gotten a few new cards to write about. Two of the cards are relic cards of the two Robinsons (Brooks and Frank).

2006 Epic Materials Brooks Robinson Pants 36/50

  • 2006 Upper Deck Epic EM-RO2 Brooks Robinson Game-Used Pants card  36/50
    • So shiny!

2003 SP Legendary Cuts Frank Robinson B-FR

  • 2003 Upper Deck SP Legendary Cuts B-FR Frank Robinson Game-Used bat card (99/125)
    • He looks so happy in this card!

Both cards have my favorite Orioles logo – The Cartoon Bird – It’s the coolest!

With my first Father’s day in the books, I must say my wife is awesome! Since my son was born she has lost most interest in cards, but she surprised me with 8 packs of cards. I was so happy sitting there on Father’s Day with my son, making the normal baby noises,  next to me while I was opening baseball cards.

So out of the 8 packs I got just 2 Oriole cards!! The rest of the cards I could really care less about.

2009 Bowman Nick Markakis2009 Bowman Adam JonesI also got an autograph in one of the (RETAIL) packs! I was so excited to see an autograph from packs bought at Target. Then I looked at it again, it was not even a Baseball Player! This is one of the worst ideas for an insert series, let alone an autographed one. I don’t  think I would be as bummed if it was just a regular insert card without the autograph or have the drafted player’s picture. Just seems kind of stupid to me. ****Here is the link to Night Owl’s Post about this card and comments from Mr. Pardo*****

2009 Bowman Larry PardoThen in the past few days I was at the local card shop and someone opened an entire box of 2009 Bowman and decided not to take any of the cards (guess he did not like the design or was only looking for the hits). But as they say one man’s junk is another man’s treasure. So while purchasing the binder pages to get ready for the release of the 2009 Allen & Ginter tomorrow, I picked up the Bowman leftovers and 4 other cards.

  • 2007 Allen & Ginter Bruce LeeI think this is one of the sweetest non baseball card released by Allen & Ginter. He is a martial arts legend.
  • 2007 Allen & Ginter Nick MarkakisAnother 2007 Allen & Ginter and another new Nick Markakis card for the collection

Just to save time, I will just show the images of the other highlights. One or both of the Sizemore cards will be heading over to Achiever Card Blog shortly.

2007 Allen & Ginter Dick Perez Sizemore2008 Chrome SizemoreMoments & Milestones Sizemore 103/1502008 Chrome Ichiro

Comments
  1. owlatnight says:

    I received that exact scout autograph card in a pack and blogged about it and the scout and I had a rather interesting conversation that spanned a couple of posts!

  2. lonestarr says:

    I’m more or less indifferent to the Bowman scout autos, though I probably wouldn’t like ’em at all if not for the fact that they look really cool. The Co-Signers dual autos with the scout and player they scouted are pretty nifty though. Maybe they just had some stickergraphs left over from that or something.

  3. Carl says:

    I like the B Robinson card…I have been collecting his cards for years. I heard he is playing in some legends sports challenge soon, I would love to get him to sign my cards there.

Leave a Reply

