My first complete set

Posted: June 19, 2009 in Baltimore Colts, Baseball, Football, Mailbag
Tags: ,

I am happy to say that I have finished the 2008 Allen & Ginter set (#1-350 and 50 state cards). The last two cards came from one of the blogs I check daily, Sac Bunt Baseball Card Blog. The blog is ran by three friends (Mark, Chris, and John). In Mark’s first post he stated that he collects Orioles and a few players from other teams. One player he collects is Tim Lincecum, so I went through my many stacks of random cards and kept finding cards to send. My wife was happy that I was sending the cards to someone who will enjoy them and that I was getting rid of cards that I really did not care about (otherwise they would end up in another stack on the desk).

In the package I received from Mark were the 2008 Allen & Ginter #83 and #312, the final pieces to my set.

#83 Masahide Kobayashi RC (Rookie) 2008 Topps Allen and Ginter Main #312 Brandon Wood SP 2008 Topps Allen and GinterMany thanks, for helping finish my first complete set!

Also in the mail I received a card I got off eBay.

2006 Topps Finest Johnny Unitas Finest Moments JU2The scan of this card does not really look as good as the card itself. It is a 2006 Topps Finest Johnny Unitas Boxloader (JU2). This card highlights Unitas being named Player of the Decade (1960), “…the Associated Press chose Unitas as the top player of the ’60’s. He threw 182 TD passes, and his 26,546 yards led all quarterbacks.” It’s one more card I can add to my small Johnny Unitas collection. If anyone would like to trade for any more Unitas cards, please leave me a comment.

Comments
  1. Mark says:

    Glad we could help you complete that set …. now on to the 09 Allen & Ginter! Gotta love that Adam Jones bobblehead too…. I hope your dad likes it too. I am jealous that you have the Markakis one from last year… I can’t believe I missed that game last year.

Leave a Reply

