On-card vs. Sticker

Posted: June 5, 2009 in Baltimore Orioles, Baseball, Blog
Tags: ,

I got two example cards that are of the same player, different products, and different types of autos (On-card/ sticker).

Example #1

2007 Ultimate Collection (AP-PA) America's Pastime Autograph

Example #2

2005 Upper Deck Heroes #38 Palmer autograph (27/99)A very nice example of on-card autograph

For the longest time, I was indifferent to the sticker autographs verses on-card autographs. But the more I collect, the more I enjoy the on-card. One of the main reasons for the shift in my view came just a couple days ago. When I read on sports cards uncensored and voice of the collector, about the latest scam hitting the collecting community, forged sticker autographs.

As of right now, I know the current few sticker autographs I have are the real deal. But it really makes me question purchasing any more.

Comments
  1. beardy says:

    I’ve got that Heroes Palmer too, and definitely appreciate the fact that it’s hard signed.

    Somehow, I sort of like the tacky silver Topps sticker autos, but hard signed is always best.

  2. In the long run, when people come to their senses, we suspect that on-card autos will retain their “value,” whereas the stickers not so much.

Leave a Reply

