Catch up

Posted: April 11, 2009 in Blog

How time does fly….

I have been falling behind on my post, but I will make a strong effort to post at least once a week. Time has been so tight with work and family. So here is the post of this week:

Jim Palmer talking about O's upcoming year

Jim Palmer talking about O's upcoming year

Saturday, April 4 was an exciting day: Orioles Fanfest at Camden Yards. Even though we did not have season tickets, we were still able to get some neat freebies like t-shirts, hats, posters and bobbleheads of Brian Roberts, and car magnets. I also found a mini bobblehead of Nick Markakis in his minor league uniform for $5… I had to pick it up. The best part about fanfest was meeting the Japanese Orioles pitcher, Koji Uehara and getting his autograph on two baseballs and two pictures. I think Koji had a very good major debut and recording a win against the Yankees made it that must sweeter. I would like to see Koji pitch a little deeper into the game, but that was not my call. We also met Adam Easton and Felix Pie. Adam Easton seems to be a very nice person and now that he is in the rotation I am interested to see what he can do. Felix Pie did not strike me as a fan friendly player, he did not say anything to us, smile, or even acknowledge our presence.

Koji Uehara

Koji Uehara

Koji Uehara, Adam Easton, and Felix Pie

FanFest Things

FanFest Things

The past series against the Yankees and the current series against the defending AL Champs, the Rays, shows that the Orioles seem to be doing very well. Winning the series against the Yankees was huge. Nothing like a series win to open the season. Last night’s game had me on the edge of my seat. Evan Longoria is a great player! He just went to prove it again with 2 home runs against the O’s. But the O’s were able to pull out the win (5-4)! I don’t want to jinx the season, but I really like what I have seen from the Orioles so far this year!

Card Collecting Part:

I saw that 2009 Allen & Ginter cards are up for presell. I think I will be picking up a couple of boxes. I am still waiting for the 2009 Finest to arrive.

Leave a Reply

