A Brief History of My Collecting

Posted: February 24, 2009 in Baseball, Blog

I started out in the great hobby of collecting baseball cards during my early childhood. I would sit on the floor with my father, open packs and spend hours sorting/ looking at them. Those were good times. But as I grew up, my interests slowly moved away from collecting cards (sadly).

However, I remember the road back into the hobby really well (granted it was only a year or so ago). I was walking through Arundel Mills mall in Hanover, MD and they were holding a card show. First thing that popped into my head was to purchase stuff for my dad (who is also an Orioles and Baltimore Colts fans). As I was picking out stuff, I kept saying to myself how much I would enjoy it. For every item I picked up for him, I picked up an item for myself. As I was getting ready to leave one day, I saw a 1982 Topps #21 Cal Ripken Jr. rookie card. I have always liked that card and really wanted it, however I did not have the $50 the dealer was asking for. As soon as I got home, I was on eBay. I would eventually pick up the Cal Ripken Jr. rookie, but first I picked up a Ripken PSA graded card. As my collection continued to grow, my wife saw all the enjoyment I got from collecting and she started to dabble in collecting. She finally got the hook when we started the 2008 Allen & Ginter set. She is the most organized person I know and right away enjoyed putting the cards into binders. Between the thrill of opening packs and organizing, she become a collector! HOORAY!!

Then one day, I was sitting around and figured I would get a lot of enjoyment from sharing my collection with everyone. When a friend and I were doing a Google search, we came across Fielder’s Choice Card Blog. I figured that I would give it a try, and man was I in for such a great experience. I must say since I have started Ryan’s Memorabilia Blog I have met some of the nicest people. It seems that the collector’s blog community is very friendly and generous.

With the Orioles in last place in the American League East, I knew a lot of fans would drop off. At first I did not find a single Orioles blogger, and then I came across a couple Orioles sites. One of the sites is sacbuntbaseball.com, a site that features the writing of two fans (a Twins fan and a fellow Orioles fan). Chris and John run a great site! The Blog Bat Around post was excellent, I totally agree. Their continuous analysis of the Baltimore Orioles is incredible. Please keep it up; I greatly enjoy reading your posts.

If you are an Orioles collector, I would strongly suggest creating a blog about your O’s Collecting Journey. With the help of fellow bloggers, your collection could reach new heights.

Comments
  1. scott says:

    I live 5 minutes from Arundel mills mall and will hang out at the show 6-8 March trying to acquire pre1971 topps baseball. If you have any to trade, I have 200 to trade. Are you aware of the Marley Station shows and the monthly one at St. Philip Neri?

Leave a Reply

