O’s Update

Posted: February 18, 2009 in Baltimore Orioles, Baseball, Blog
Tags:

Reading the Orioles news on Orioles.com, I found out some great news. I know I may be a day late, but oh well.

The first great news is Jeremy Guthrie being named to the USA Team for the World Baseball Classic. Here’s the link. I think it is great for Guthrie, it a big honor to be selected. My only concern is that if he injures himself in the Classic, that would really hurt the O’s.  I have met him a few times and I cannot say enough good things. He is a great role model for kids today.

2009 Topps Jeremy GuthrieSecond, the Orioles are still actively working on a contact for Brian Roberts. Here’s the link. The article did not give any details about how close they are to finalizing it, but hopefully that will be soon. I really think the Orioles should just give Roberts a 4 year contract and let him continue to play in Baltimore. We will know more by Thursday.

Third, Koji Uehara. I am very excited to see him pitch in person. Here’s the link. When a veteran major league catcher states that a pitcher has above- average skills in Spring Training, good things are coming for Baltimore. I could go on and on about how great they are making Uehara out to be, but I will just let you read the article. This could be a great year for Oriole Baseball.

Comments
  1. Beardy says:

    man i hope so, us O’s fans deserve a decent season. no one around here expects an AL east title, but i think an above .500 year would make people start going to games again.

  2. Chris says:

    Be sure to check out http://www.orioleshangout.com and http://www.camdenchat.com for all your O’s news as well!

  3. mdbirdlover says:

    I really enjoy your site. Maybe sometime you and I can talk and I can do a story about the long lost art of baseball card collecting. Well, you know what I mean. No offense meant by that. To me, I’m a novice, it just seems to have taken a back seat to memorabilia collecting. I could be way off base. But that is why I say we should talk.

    Enlighten me and my audience?

Leave a Reply

