The Blog Bat Around #4

Posted: February 10, 2009 in Baseball, Blog
Tags:

At first I was not sure I would write anything for The Blog Bat Around, but I decided that I would try my hand at this.

The question was asked:  “Which baseball card or set do you believe will be valuable in ten years?…” 

To start out, I think the best way to ensure a profit with baseball cards is to buy and sell Vintage cards. There are just too many issues with cards today (both manufacturer and player issues).

The one card that I believe will always hold it’s value or increase would be the T206 Honus Wagner. It is considered by most to be the “Holy Grail” of baseball cards. I do not think most of us could afford it (I could be wrong), but how cool would it be to own a piece of baseball card history. 

Since the T206 is out of the reach of most of us (and the topic was dealing with Buying and Holding), I would say a 1954 Topps #128, the Hank Aaron’s Rookie card. In the ballpark of around $1500, it is still too expensive for me right now. The reason I believe the Hank Aaron Rookie card is the best bet for the next 10 plus years is most people view him as the Home Run King. People can debate about Barry Bonds never truly breaking Aaron’s Home Run record, due to the fact that Bonds’ name was brought up in the steroid investigations. The player who was posed to break both Aaron and Bond’s records just got brought up in recent steroid news, Alex Rodriguez. I believe most baseball fans view Hank Aaron as the Home Run King. With that being said, it will only continue to maintain and push up the value of Aaron’s Rookie.

The problem with modern cards and sets is that you can NEVER be sure what will maintain value, let alone increase. There are so many sets and inserts, how can you keep up with every one of them? I used to think that if you got a cut signature or game-used card you could bank on that, but now everyone is producing them. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy the chase of getting a good hit. As you can tell by my Game-Used/ Autographed page. But how many cut cards can you make? What is the different between a Babe Ruth cut signature card from 2007 and 2008? Not much. 

I do think cards (Rookie, Game-Used, and Autographs) of players like, but not limited to, Nick Markakis, Adam Jones, and Evan Longoria will continue to rise (as long as their careers do). This is what makes baseball cards great, focusing on what makes you happy. Looking back, most people in 1981 did not think that Cal Ripken Jr. would be as famous as he is today. 

Since you cannot predict the value, I try to focus most of my interests around which cards bring my family and me the most enjoyment. I do not care what will make me the most money. The quality time spent with my family picking sets, opening packs, organizing, and looking at cards is PRICELESS to me. I am hoping to pass this love of Baseball Card Collecting on to my son, who should be born in the next couple weeks!

Leave a Reply

