2009 Goals/Wife’s Mail Call

Posted: February 6, 2009 in Baseball, Blog, Mailbag

After reading the great post Fielder’s Choice Baseball Card Blog wrote about, I thought it would be a good idea to share my strategy for 2009. So here we go…

We are planing to collect just 2 sets this year, wish there could be more, but funds are running short. We are still looking for help picking the first set of 2009, so the jury is still out on that. As for the second set, I believe we have come to an agreement: the 2009 Topps Allen & Ginter. We got so much enjoyment out of collecting the 2008 series (which we are still missing a few of).

We started back into collecting last year with no direction and we were not even sure if we would continue. We would just walk through the local Target and pick up a few packs or blasters that looked interesting. Needless to say, with no direction we were like a ship with no ore.

So once we get both sets figured out, we will only pick up those products. We will try to stick to hobby boxes and the occasional retail blaster box. Since I started this blog, I have been introduced to the online card www.dacardworld.com, so buying hobby boxes should not cost as much.

And with this being a new year, my wife said that is she is willing to post every now and then on here. So please drop her a comment, she will be posting the cards we got in the mail today.

Wife Mail Call- My First Post

Today was an exciting day, we received not one, not two, but three ebay purchases in the mail! The first is a 2008 Allen & Ginter Brian Roberts Relic Card AGR-BR1. It contains a swatch cut from a game-worn jersey.  Now we have the Brian Roberts game used bat and jersey relic cards! I love the pattern around the Allen & Ginter relic cards. I look forward to possibly collecting the 2009 Allen & Ginter set which we will pass on to our son.

2008 Topps Allen & Ginter Brian Roberts Jersey Relic (AGR-BR1)

The second card I am writing about is the 2008 Upper Deck Brian Roberts Baseball Heroes jersey card- number 15. It is number 118/125. It’s always nice knowing we have a limited number card. It says on the top right hand side of the card “9/29/07 Swipes 50th Bag of the Year.” That was his 50th stolen base of the year. Pretty impressive I must say. I love watching Brian Roberts up at bat and his position as second baseman for the Orioles.

2008 Upper Deck Heroes (15) Brian Roberts (118/125)

The last card for tonight is an Authentic Opening Day Baltimore Orioles vs Tampa Bay Devil Rays Relic Card from the 2006 Topps Baseball Series 2. This game was played on April 3, 2006 at Oriole Park at Camden Yards. These are my two favorite teams at this time. It is amazing how far the Devil Rays came: from being the worst team to one of the best in my opinion. I was rooting for them to win the World Series this past year. Back to the card, this card is nifty because it has an authentic opening day game-used base piece. It is the first card like this my husband and I have ever seen. Has anyone else ever seen one of these? This concludes my first mail call post my husband asked me to write. Hopefully it is not too boring, I hope to write more in the future as my husband can’t pass up a great deal on ebay cards!

2006 Topps Opening Day Game Used Base (ODR-OD)

Leave a Reply

