Best Box of 2008 Allen & Ginter

Posted: January 31, 2009 in Baseball, Blog
Tags:

As I have stated in the other posts, my current collecting goal is to finally finish the 2008 Allen & Ginter set. So after much discussion and sacrificing on my part, I was able to convince my beautiful and financially intelligent wife (who I have just gotten into the hobby) into buying a “last” hobby box. We took a trip to our local card shop, where he continued a previous deal to us, 2008 Allen & Ginter for only $55 (still cheaper than the ones I found on eBay).

We started with the box topper first. We got the Boston Red Sox Manny Ramirez N43-MR. I was quite pleased with the pull.

2008 Allen & Ginter Ramirez Box Topper

As I drooled over all the packs, I let my wife open most of them because in the past she has been luckier than me at pulling great cards. The one good card I pulled from this box is a Jeff Francoeur from the Atlanta Braves Jersey Relic (AGR-JF).

2008 Jeff Francoeur Jersey Relic Card

After that we got down to the last 2 packs, when my wife pulled a card and stated “What is this one? It’s 21/75”. When I looked over, I knew right away what she had pulled, a Jacoby Ellsbury (RC2) rip card! I never thought that we would be lucky enough to actually get one, other than buying one off eBay. I don’t want to rip it, but I am so curious what is inside. And is it really worth ripping it? The card shop said he has seen quite a few ripped and what was on the inside was never worth it. Any thoughts? I have no idea what I should do.

2008 Allen & Ginter (RC2) Jacoby Ellsbury Rip Card (21/75)2008 Allen & Ginter Rip Back

Onto the last pack, figuring that we had pulled the last hit from the box, my wife then pulled an Albert Pujols from the St. Louis Cardinals Jersey Relic (AGR-AP1).

2008 Albert Pujols Jersey Relic Card

In addition to the awesome cards above, we pulled these above average inserts:

  • The World’s Greatest Victories (19) – Bill Mazeroski (First World Series Walk-Off Home Run in Series History)
  • The World’s Icon (A12) – Hercules
  • The World’s Champions (B19) – Christy Mathewson
  • The World’s Leaders (WL18) – Geir H. Haarde (Iceland)
  • The World’s Leaders (WL36) – Donald Tusk (Poland)

Overall I am very happy with the purchase of this box, however the main reason we bought the box was to try and add more to the set. After counting and checking, we only got a whopping total of 8 cards we needed out of 24 packs. I will be updating my wants and trade list shortly. I will not complain about only getting 8 cards, because we got a lot of awesome cards out of this box.

I have tons of doubles now, so please send me your want list for the 2008 Allen & Ginter and I will see what can be done. Also if you would like to trade for any relic cards, I would still like to pick up a 2008 Allen & Ginter Nick Markakis autographed card or other Orioles cards. So please contact me. From now on, my baseball card loving wife will be in charge of opening most if not all packs!

Comments
  1. Beardy says:

    I got one out of A&G this year too. Almost soiled myself when I saw it, and had it ripped open within seconds. It was pretty uneventful since there was just a SP mini inside. It’s Tris Speaker, so a HOF’er at least.

    It’s really hard not to, but I say don’t rip it. If they already sell for $100 unripped, think about how much an unripped one will hopefully go for in 2020?

Leave a Reply

