Collecting Tactics

Posted: January 14, 2009 in Blog

I have started collecting cards again after a number of years of not collecting. As you can tell from the blog, I am a huge Baltimore sports fan. I have always been and always will be an Orioles Fan. I have read a number of posts about the difference between purchasing cards off of eBay and opening boxes.

I am really torn… I love the rush of opening a pack and seeing what I may pull (see past post), but at the same time I always feel that it is a waste of money. I recently purchased a few cards off of eBay for really cheap (I will post the list and pictures when they arrive).

So I arrive at my current problem. I know player collectors suggest to purchase just the cards they want and set builders suggest to open boxes. What do team collectors do? Should I follow the footsteps of the player collectors or the set builders? Or should I just do a little of both? If you have any suggestions, please let me know.

On another note, last night I went to the local card store and the owner started talking about the difference between hobby boxes and retail boxes. It is something that I never knew. As I was thinking about it, I was wondering if the price difference between the two would make the hobby boxes worth it. For example, 2008 Topps retail packs contain 12 cards and hobby packs only contain 10 cards. Any ideas? Please let me know what you have found as the better deal.

Also while at the card shop, I had to pick up a few things for my collection. I picked up the basics like the penny sleeves, hard cases (for the jersey cards I won on eBay), and card box. Then being a Baltimore fan and a Ripken fan something caught my eye, it was a Coca-Cola bottle in the orginal package tube from 2001, commemorating Ripken’s career. My wife agreed that I could buy it! What a find!

Ripken Coca-Cola Bottle

Comments
  1. albuqwirke says:

    Things go better with Cal!

  2. Welcome to the Hobby Blogosphere. Your site has now been added to the Sports Card Blogroll.

    Sincerely,

    JayBee Anama
    bdj610

Leave a Reply

